You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

Strategy and General Discussion
Moderated by Yeebaagooon, TAG

Hop to:    
Welcome! You are not logged in. Please Login or Register.12 replies
Age of Mythology Heaven » Forums » Strategy and General Discussion » what counts as a newb/rookie/expert?
Bottom
Topic Subject:what counts as a newb/rookie/expert?
odin_worshipper
Mortal
posted 03 April 2005 05:57 PM EDT (US)         
ive been afraid to play online because i was never sure if i was a newb, or a rook... if im a newb (by skill level, not playing time) then ill stay offline for awhile longer... but if i was a rook then i might do some online playing. a year ago, i could beat hard comps on standard, but i haven't played in awhile. most of the time i beat moderate comps, and im getting a new strat together. would i be counted as a rook or a newb? (i play odin, sometimes i can get a group of soldiers to attack around 6-9 mins).

im back playing AOM after 1 year of being away... im glad i came back.
AuthorReplies:
xentelian
Mortal
posted 03 April 2005 06:57 PM EDT (US)     1 / 12       
I posted a similar question on another forum about a month ago.

>=1950 Elite (around 10 players)
1850-1949 Expert (around 100 players)
1750-1849 Good (around 1000 players)
1650-1749 Intermediate/Average
<1650 Rookie/Beginner/Novice

is a reasonable description for ratings classifications online.

Newbie is a slang term for someone new to the game.
I have played over a thousand games and still hover around
the 1600 range, yet I don't consider myself a noobie.
Some people at 1800+ level don't consider themselves experts either.

You will just have to take your chances online because that is the only way to guage your skill. The smurfs/selfraters may stress you out, but you will have more pride in your victories than over the computer.

Good luck and have fun!

sychronizer123
Banned
posted 03 April 2005 09:31 PM EDT (US)     2 / 12