You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

Strategy and General Discussion
Moderated by Yeebaagooon, TAG

Hop to:    
Welcome! You are not logged in. Please Login or Register.3 replies
Age of Mythology Heaven » Forums » Strategy and General Discussion » Trees - Lumber - Wood
Bottom
Topic Subject:Trees - Lumber - Wood
Aok_yobbo
Mortal
posted 21 January 2002 07:38 AM EDT (US)         
I'm quite new to this, so bear with me.

This has probably already come up, but the one thing I hate about long games in AOK (Im talking 2 hours here)on maps that have hardly any wood, such as Arabia, is that i always seem to run out of forests that are close to any of my buildings. I always have to venture of with about 25-35 villies at a time, to the middle of the map, with no defences, but a couple of spears or something. Numerous times I have been slaughtered with about 4 knights.

Im not completely up-to-date with all the news and its probably already been talked about, but in a couple of other strategy games, such as settlers 3 (or something) and Knights and Merchants, the lumber workers actually went out and planted trees, which grew over time and then they would be chopped down again, sort of like a tree farm.

In my opinion this would be a good idea for AOM to incorporate. It would give the player a constant and steady supply of wood and would also reduce having the to concentrate on where to put the next lumber camp instead of building an army.

What do others think?
Aok__Yobbo

AuthorReplies:
TheShadowDawn
Mortal
posted 21 January 2002 09:14 AM EDT (US)     1 / 3       
I think you should just make trees last longer, like in EE; they can still realistically deplete, and you will run out of wood eventually, but it lasts a lot longer.