You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

Strategy and General Discussion
Moderated by Yeebaagooon

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: 3 civs
posted 21 February 2002 05:27 PM EDT (US)   
Hi I am new to the AoM forum...

Browsing threw these pages it surprised me how only three civs will be implemented in the game...
The more the merrier right?

Ya ya there probably will be an expansion, but still I find 3 too little I wouldn't mind a 4th

ps: at least it's cool to see that they didn't have that "many"(=few) gaia-animals.

Replies:
posted 21 February 2002 05:36 PM EDT (US)     1 / 15  
Actually, there is more like 72 different civs and there is 3 cultures. Think of cultures as art sets.
posted 21 February 2002 05:45 PM EDT (US)     2 / 15  
yes, but of the "72" are almost identical to 2 or 3 others.

Example:

Zeus->Apollo->Athena->hera
Zeus->Apollo->Ares>hera
Zeus->Apollo->Aphrodite->hera

these 3 are all onlt different by 1 minor god, im not sure if these gods are the right ones, but you get my point, these configurations are very similar.

posted 21 February 2002 06:45 PM EDT (US)     3 / 15  
Quality over Quantity.

Thats all I say.

posted 21 February 2002 06:57 PM EDT (US)     4 / 15  
Age of Mythology has 3 cultures, but within each culture are innumerable factions. You choose before the game starts your primary god to worship; this is essentially much like choosing a civilisation, since that god gives you bonuses. Each time you advance an age, you can choose from one of two minor deities which will give you more bonuses, and access to new mythological units and technologies.

All in all, you can have up to 72 different choices for which gods you play. Every one of these choices would have different bonuses and tech trees.

TheShdwDwn
If you're like me, then it's possible you're a clone generated from my stolen DNA. I suggest you turn yourself in for destruction immediately.