Hop to:    
Welcome! You are not logged in. Please Login or Register.8 replies
Age of Mythology Heaven » Forums » Strategy Discussion » Poseidon Strat
Bottom
Topic Subject:Poseidon Strat
Tireseas
Mortal
posted 08 May 2004 01:01 AM EDT (US)         
I'm fairly new to AoM, but I've played AoE/RoR and AoK/AoC fairly extensively, so I'm not a complete newb. I'm also new to the forums so I don't know if this has been discussed previously...

Anyway, my Question is this:
If everyone expects a Poseidon player to go hipps, then why would he ever go hipps, at least right away?

Why not mass hoplites?

If you think about it its not a terrible idea, at least not in my opinion. It probably wouldn't stand up in the higher ratings, but I've been trying it out amoungst my fellow beginners and it seems to work with some effectiveness.

Look at it this way:
The enemy expects either hipps, or, if they suspect you of being a sly devil, tox's, or a mix of the two. Therefore, he will probably be producing anti cav/archers, which will probably take the image of infantry and a little cav himself. SO, why not go Hoplites? The worst case scenerio should be your infantry vs. thiers, because no sane person would really go archers vs. Poseidon. Just give them the hack armor upgrade at the armory, pierce armor if you have the extra resources, and they should stand up just fine.

To keep up a little deception, reinforce thier suspicions of a cav attack, I usually grab Hermes going classic, because his tech is Spirited Charge, a cav upgrade, so they should conclude that I would logically go cavalry. Also, that way I am able to use some of my extra wood on a few cents, as I'm not using much of it elsewhere. You could also concievably go Ares, as Pestilance is VERY nice when attacking thier forward/main base.